Books · Parenting

Books for Mums 

Before I had my daughter I loved to read, if I got into a good book I would spend all my spare time reading it. I remember reading New Moon (don’t judge) whilst stirring my spaghetti bolognese because I just couldn’t put it down. Then along comes motherhood where spare time no longer exists, I’ve thought about actually pencilling ‘relax’ into my diary. As soon as someone takes my LO for an hour or two relaxation is the last thing on my mind. I spend the whole time rushing around cleaning, tidying and hoping to fit in a shower.

It’s good to know that you’re not alone in motherhood and that a lot of mums out there from different backgrounds are all experiencing similar thoughts and feelings as you. That’s why I like to read parenting blogs and trawl Instagram.

The following books are written by mothers and give us an honest look into their lives, in full hilarious, graphic details throughout the good and bad times. I can relate to them on many levels. They are not long novels so you can read them in small chunks whilst you are busy doing your thing.

1. The Mother Book – Selfish Mother

This has been on my to buy list for a while now. It’s a book curated by Molly Gunn of Selfish Mother. It’s a collection of articles and stories written by mothers. The book costs £10 and £2 of every sale goes to the Mothers2Mothers charity. Buy here

2. The Unmumsy Mum – Sarah Turner

This book has definitely taken off, it seems that every mum has already read it but I haven’t. I have heard lots of good things about it though and that it will make you laugh out loud. I actually won a copy of this back in March through a Facebook competition but I’m still waiting for it to arrive. I think that it’s been lost in the post 😩 hopefully it will turn up soon. Buy here

3. Letters to my Fanny – Cherry Healey

This was only launched last week and has a lot of online buzz about it already. A lot of Instamums that I follow posted pics of them partying at the book launch, that’s how I heard about the book and it made me want to read it. A book with the word ‘fanny’ in the title has to be hilarious right! Buy here

4. Nobody Told Me: Poetry & Parenthood – Hollie McNish

I first heard of Hollie in the first issue of Fourth Trimester magazine, her poem Embarrassed about breastfeeding in toilets was featured in it and I immediately loved it. As a breastfeeding mum I can definitely relate to those awkward early days. The poem went viral on YouTube and has over 1 million views.. I recently listened to her on a Scummy Mummy podcast which mentioned her book and brought it to my attention. Buy here

Please let me know if you have read any of the following books and what you thought of it. If you have any other motherhood related books that you want to share with me please link them in the comments below. – Jodie x

 

Leave a Reply

