fashion · fblogger · review · shopping

Review: Seasalt Boatwright Dress

I recently wore the Seasalt Boatwright dress out to a meal to celebrate my 4th wedding anniversary, it got a lot of love on Instagram so I thought that I would share with you more details about the dress.

rhuSqyE.png

I’ve always loved the 1940s/50s style with gorgeous swing dresses and fitted wiggle dresses, I used to dress in the ‘rockabilly’ style as most people call it complete with victory rolls and all which I love but since becoming a mum a rarely find the need to dress up these days. After having Sophia I was looking for a beautiful summer tea dress that had a button up front for breastfeeding access and I came across the Seasalt Lottie dress. This is a beautiful button down dress very similar to this Boatwright style but with a collar. I bought it in the wrong size as after having Sophia I was a size 12 and all the reviews for the dress told me to size up so I bought a size 14. I found it tight on the arms and chest but the waist was too big, I did wear a thin waist belt to nip it in which worked great but when I lost the baby weight and was back to a size 10 I knew that I needed to let this dress go.

Lottie on the left, Boatwright on the right.

a6Zfsjq.jpg

Fast forward to this season and Seasalt have brought out this new style which is absolutely gorgeous and very flattering for any body shape. The nautical print is very similar to the Lottie dress that I used to have which I loved so I knew that this was the perfect dress for me. It is very easy to dress up with heels or dress down with flats for a casual day out, It really makes you feel special when wearing it, I recommend pairing it with a red lip, heels and yellow cardigan for that 1950s vibe, I felt like my old self again and I know that I’m going to get lots of wear out of it. I wore mine with my yellow Radley Soho Backpack and red Irregular Choice Mermaid Shoes.

Why I love it:

  • It falls just below my knee, a length that I’m most comfortable with (I’m 5’6).
  • Button down design is perfect for breastfeeding in. The buttons are covered in the matching fabric too which look beautiful and they feel very well made. The buttons are stitched on well and feel very secure, a rarity these days.
  • Flattering design with a nipped in waist and full circle skirt.
  • True to size. Unlike the older Lottie dress the sizing on this dress is just right, the arms and chest aren’t too tight and I don’t recommend sizing up unless you have a very large bust.
  • The cotton feels very good quality and the dress is very comfortable to wear all day long.
  • Can be dressed up or down.
  • I’ve only wore it the once but I’ve had a lot of compliments about it and it makes me feel good wearing it.
  • It feels good to support British design and I love how this dress can’t be found on the high street so not everyone will have it.

Anything I don’t like:

  • Nothing at all, I really can’t fault this dress or the Seasalt customer service I received which was excellent. I am very happy with this purchase.

I0t4lZg.jpg

cvSvFes.png

 

w8raLOh.jpgApart from pretty dresses seasalt make lots of other gorgeous clothing such as cosy knits, Breton striped tops and waterproof coats. All the perfect stylish mum uniform, can I have one of everything please? If you want to buy this gorgeous dress or you want some more information about it then please click here.

Have you heard of the brand Seasalt before? Please comment in the box bElle, a lot of people of my Facebook and Instagram had never heard of the brand before. I love how the brand is British and based in Cornwall a place that I absolutely love. – Jodie x

Disclaimer: I am not sponsored by Seasalt in any way. I bought this dress with my own money and all thoughts and opinions here are my own.

Mums That Slay
Family Fever
15 thoughts on “Review: Seasalt Boatwright Dress

  1. I have proper dress envy! I’ve only just recently discovered Seasalt but have yet to treat myself to anything.
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love how it can be casual or dressed up but my favourite thing is the length of it as it’s past the knee. Also it has pockets, if you get a Seasalt dress I’m sure that you won’t regret it and it will look great on you. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

